Fascism in America?

January 13, 2007

This post is less about “tech” and more about “slavior”. I am very sensitive to radicalization of society and that slight of hand that turns moderate but unhappy citizens into martyrs for a cause. There is a great interview over at Salon with Chris Hedges about his new book “American Fascists”, here’s a telling excerpt from it:

My father remains the most important influence on my life, and he was a Presbyterian minister, a devout Christian. I quote H. Richard Niebuhr saying, “Religion is a good thing for good people and a bad thing for bad people.” I wouldn’t describe myself as particularly pious but I certainly would describe myself as religious. And when I see how these people are manipulating the Christian religion for personal empowerment and wealth and for the destruction of the very values that I think are embodied in the teachings of Jesus Christ, I’m angry.

Chris drives parallels with Yugoslavia’s infamous religous melt-down and how something like it could happen in America. Take a few minutes and read it, this is something that might affect all of us in a few years.

8 Responses to “Fascism in America?”


  1. Hi, i feel that i noticed you visited my web site so i got here to go
    back the favor?.I am trying to to find issues to improve my website!

    I assume its adequate to make use of a few of your concepts!
    !


  2. Hi, everything is going well here and ofcourse every one is sharing information, that’s genuinely excellent, keep up writing.


  3. You must submit valid data and need to have your site accelerators turned off.


  4. Going through this,the user is provided with answers to his queries.

  5. pregnant Says:

    It’s a genuine cure for infertility troubles.

  6. low on carbs Says:

    You can make use of flax meal, almond meal, soy powder, and so
    on.


  7. Hi it’s me, I am also visiting this site regularly, this web page is truly nice and the visitors
    are genuinely sharing pleasant thoughts.


  8. Hello.This post was really remarkable, particularly since I was looking for thoughts on this
    subject last Friday.


Leave a Reply

